DISCLAIMER
If you came across this and you get offended by what I’ve written here, you can’t hold that against me because (1) starting Oct 10 I’ve changed/omitted names and (2) this blog is 100% unpublicized. I’ve done nothing to advertise or invite people to read about me talk about things that happen to put people in a bad light (but like Taylor Swift says, you shouldn’t do bad things) because (3) this is literally a diary, only it’s online because my law-student hands are always too tired to write things down, and so I’m figuring out my life like this. Okay? Okay.
Tonsillectomy post-op
posted on 2018-05-01 5:36 p.m. by Vanessa
Hi! So I got my tonsils removed April 25th. I got knocked out 3:15PM because somebody put something in my IV and I felt like my artery/vein/blood vessel was literally gonna pop so I closed my eyes.

Anyway, today is day 6! And I go back to work tomorrow, May 2nd. Yes, a day after a holiday--it is gonna be horrific. I've been hungry a lot, and yesterday I had japchae--Val's leftovers from having dinner with friends. It was exhausting to chew so much just to ensure a smooth swallow, but I just love japchae so so much. Was it worth it? I don't think so. I'm afraid I irritated my throat, but I didn't bleed or anything. I just downed a lot of ice water after and took a painkiller for the first time - Celecoxib 200mg. My ears hurt like hell when I finished eating. Yet I still went for seconds.

I don't remember what day in particular it started--maybe the weekend because Val and I were together so much then-- but I stopped sticking my tongue out to look at my tonsils--sorry, my throat--because it was bad for my throat's recovery. I've also been "superficially" gargling Betadine solution whenever my mouth felt extra slimey.

On the day after my surgery, I gargled with Betadine thoroughly twice, and the feeling knocked me off. But I found it to be a pleasant burning sensation, so I kept going at it. Until of course, my doctor saw me at 4 in the afternoon and told me not to gargle so thoroughly anymore.

I've been eating vanilla ice cream until I couldn't tolerate the sweetness. I didn't eat any at all yesterday but I just got so bored with my diet I ate again today. I also cooked some buko pandan gelatin powder a few days ago. It doesn't taste like anything, and I have to chew it when I eat it, so I haven't been eating it much. I had tiny chunks of it with ice cream earlier though, so that was pretty amazing.

I go back to work tomorrow, and I am really afraid of talking. I haven't spoken at all since Thursday, since Val told me she didn't speak for 2 weeks after her surgery. But she also ate jelly for 2 weeks, nothing else. I didn't. So I've been reading up on recovery, and all of them have been able to speak. I mean, I know I'm able to speak. I spoke with my doctor Thursday. It's just... post-op bleeding terrifies me. I don't want to bleed and have to be rushed to the ER since I think I've already used up most of my medical insurance. I've been experimenting with food because tomorrow is gonna be hell at work, and I need to be on top of my game.

I've been watching The Good Wife a LOT. Whenever I stop, I eat. So. So much for losing 3kgs.

tired - 2019-08-18
- - 2019-06-20
- - 2019-06-20
041619 - 2019-04-16
LB - 2018-10-02